Fevers and Sleepyheads

FullSizeRender-2
Me and Ava being lazy

Ava came down with a fever Thursday night, it lasted all weekend but she’s doing better now. The good thing I’ve realized about having twins is that usually when one baby is really cranky or not feeling good, the other one is super low maintenance. It’s like they know that you just couldn’t handle it if they were both freaking out at once. But no matter how good one baby is being, all it takes is that one little one needing you 24/7 to completely run you down.

All week Nick and I were doing a clean eating challenge we saw on Buzzfeed. We had tons of kale, acorn squash, kabocha squash, tempeh, and tons of other super healthy stuff we don’t usually eat on a daily basis. We were waking up early everyday to have our breakfast, eating regular healthy snacks every 3 to 4 hours, and getting our workouts in every day. We were PUMPED and ready for the new year. Then Ava got sick. and this was us-

FullSizeRender
Nicholas 1 & 2 sleeping

I know that waking up early tomorrow will be the last thing I want to do after this rough weekend so I made breakfasts and lunches for Nick and I ahead of time. For breakfast I made each of us some no cook blueberry oatmeal in a mason jar. I just used rolled oats, almond milk, greek yogurt (tiramisu flavored, yummm), chai seeds, and blueberries. For lunch I made salads with baby spinach leaves, cucumber slices, shredded chicken (leftovers from dinner), edamame, and a homemade vinaigrette made with orange juice, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, and a little salt and pepper. I’ll also probably have a pear either with my lunch or for a snack tomorrow. These are some of my favorite recipes I discovered this week with our clean eating challenge and it should put us back on the right track.

FullSizeRender-4

This weekend I didn’t have two seconds to clean, I made 10 healthy home cooked meals that both babies refused to eat, and Nick and I were lucky if we had a chance to drink our coffee let alone eat 3 meals and 2 snacks a day. Now, usually this would send me right back into eating whatever I can find and making excuses every day but I don’t want to do that anymore. I’m never going to be perfect all the time but I’m learning that it’s okay to give yourself a break. The point is, if something comes up right in the middle of your perfect supermom streak- don’t feel like you failed. Put your cape back on, tell yourself you can do it, and try again.

Author: youngtwinmommy

My name is Brooke and I'm a 22 year old mommy of boy-girl twins. I'm just figuring out this whole mom thing one step at a time and I want to share my journey to a healthier, happier, family! Random weird facts about me: I love Renaissance history, LOVE IT. I love to sing and play guitar, la La LA La la la laaaa I love science fiction anything I have always hated vegetables but they're growing on me... he he he I love watching movies I love the speech from Independence Day I'm surrounded by a lot of really wonderful, kind, awesome people and for that I am very very blessed.

Leave a Reply

