Belated Birthday Post (Part 2)

birthday blog 1 (1)

Nicholas and Ava turned 1 back in June of last year so it has been a while now but I still remember it like it was yesterday. I’ve been thinking about their first birthday a lot lately because it already feels like their second birthday is right around the corner. When I was trying to plan for their birthday party, I found all of the information online helpful but also extremely overwhelming. It seems these days with Pinterest and Instagram, everything looks perfect. Perfect birthday pictures, perfect birthday outfits, perfect birthday parties, and as a perfectionist first time mom I felt so much pressure for everything to be perfect. I eventually had to let go and realize that whatever I did for them would be perfect in its’ own way and as long as the babies enjoyed it, I was happy.

One of the first dilemmas I had was deciding on a gender neutral theme that the babies would like. Their scrapbook cover just happened to be Noah’s Ark and I immediately thought “two by two” would be an adorable theme. Then I saw online other Noah’s Ark parties that were also Rainbow themed and I was sold.

I saw so many cute DIY ideas on Pinterest for first birthday parties and I wanted to do them all but we did not have the time so I picked a few things to do. My favorite thing we did was a photo banner made of black and white pictures of the babies different facial expressions over their first year. It was pretty time consuming, Nick and I stayed up every night working on it after the babies went to sleep.

IMG_2588

IMG_0909

I cropped pictures of their faces from our pictures and made them black and white and then printed them and cut them out. We used pink and blue construction paper to make their hats, with sparkly pink and blue paper to make the little balls on the hats. We had a little shape cutter to help make them more quickly and we colored the hats with rainbow colored markers. Then we strung them all together with rainbow ribbon. They really showed the different personalities of the babies and they were a big hit.

Next I saw an idea for making a little book that everyone at the party can sign and write a sweet little note to the babies so I did that. I just ordered a plain white book off of Amazon and then colored on it with markers and taped one of their pictures from when they were first born to the back.

The party itself was the most stressful part, I have never thrown a party before and I’m very lucky that we live with my mother in law and she helped a lot. She handled most of the food we just got a few subs from the deli, made some baked ziti, salad, and had chips and dip and all that. We had to push the party back a week from the original date because Ava had roseola but most everyone could still make it. We just set up a few tables in the back yard and we were lucky enough that a neighbor had a big tent they let us borrow. We bought lots of rainbow decorations from Party City and then went crazy decorating the morning of the party.

IMG_3407IMG_3404

Our cake was beautiful thanks to Nick’s very talented aunt, she made a big cake for everyone and then little cakes specifically for Nicholas and Ava to smash.

IMG_3426

IMG_3427

We also did a pretty rainbow made out of fruit. (Pinterest obviously)

IMG_3430

IMG_3436

Nicholas and Ava loooved their cake. They were so messy that afterwards we just took them inside and threw them in the bathtub.

All in all, I was really happy with how our party went. A baby’s first birthday is a big deal, but the party isn’t as important as knowing that time is inevitably going to pass and we should spend every second enjoying and loving our little ones because they won’t be little for nearly long enough. Luckily sometimes after a long, fun, cake-filled day, you still get the chance to just hold your little one as they fall asleep in your arms.

Happy belated birthday my loves, the first year of your lives was the best year of mine and every day since has been just as wonderful thanks to you.

Author: youngtwinmommy

My name is Brooke and I'm a 22 year old mommy of boy-girl twins. I'm just figuring out this whole mom thing one step at a time and I want to share my journey to a healthier, happier, family! Random weird facts about me: I love Renaissance history, LOVE IT. I love to sing and play guitar, la La LA La la la laaaa I love science fiction anything I have always hated vegetables but they're growing on me... he he he I love watching movies I love the speech from Independence Day I'm surrounded by a lot of really wonderful, kind, awesome people and for that I am very very blessed.

7 thoughts on “Belated Birthday Post (Part 2)”

  1. Hi!
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you are a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site.
    Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I brought you the link to my About page, so you can read what my blog can do for you.
    http://mostlyblogging.com/about/ I also offer free incentives for subscribing.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

